Knit One, Chain One

For the avid project starter.

More Chatter and Some Goals

     Hi again! Boy, I had a long entry typed up yesterday and was nearly ready to publish when I proofread it and realized that it was just a messy, nonsensical stream of consciousness of a post that really didn’t serve my blog and probably shouldn’t be thrust upon potential readers. So I nixed it. I don’t mind to share personal stuff, and the addition of my own thoughts and ideas mixed with the actual knitting info is the whole reason for blogging to begin with. I’m not so delusional as to think that I’m bringing anything to the table that hasn’t been posted and tutorialed by others already. I’m not bringing you any brand new developments in the yarn world, I’m simply bringing it to you in my voice, with my personal touch. That’s what we all offer-a unique perspective on the things we love and love to share. But yesterday’s post attempt was just a hodge-podge of thoughts and I feel good about skipping it. At least the act of typing it up helped me to organize some thoughts in my head and move forward in some processes I’ve got going on at the moment.
So, what do I have going on currently? Well, I just cast off a pair of yoga socks I made for a friend, out of the sheer desire to make yoga socks, which for some reason have always fascinated me though I’ve never had use for a pair myself. Thankfully I know a little lady that happens to be a yoga goddess, so I offered to make and send her a pair. Pretty excited about that! As per the usual, I just sort of knit on the fly. I find myself straying more and more these days from the use of actual patterns for more than a starting point. I’m too picky, I guess, and I always end up customizing stuff beyond recognition. And with legging and wrister-type items especially, I’ve made so many that I just use my intuition to piece together whatever vision I have for the end product in my head. I mean, they’re basically just tubes with endless combinations of colors and stitches.
I’m also working out ideas for a few tutorial videos I plan to make for youtube. Trying to find as many ways as possible to make this passion of mine self-sustaining at the least. One of my longer term goals for the next few months is to try my hand at dyeing yarn, and I want to do it a certain way and that requires a decent initial investment, so any extra cash I can bring in to help grow my craft is a good thing. I’m actually already very close to the payout threshold on youtube with my how to make a preemie hat video, and I have some ideas for some simple videos that I’m pretty excited about sharing, so I think I might just be able to get there before too long!
If dyeing is a semi-long term goal, and the videos are a mid-term goal, I guess my short term goals are to make a yarn swift and, my actual weekend project for the coming weekend, to make a cheap niddy noddy, all of which I will document and share in detail, of course, so stay tuned for that. And, as always, I’ve got actual knitting to do! I can never go long without a main project on the needles, and I am very excited to soon cast on a shawl/scarf/neck wrap that I’ve been planning out for probably a month now. I treated myself to three skeins of nice LYS yarn in some exciting, vibrant colors and have since been on the prowl for the perfect project for them. Again, I couldn’t settle on any one pattern, but what I have mapped out draws inspiration from several Ravelry projects, and I am really excited to see it come together!
And whatever happened with that “great hoodie project” I started this whole blog with? Well, it exists in the exact state it was in as of my last post about it, which is to say motherhood got in the way and I haven’t touched it in nearly two years and have actually used a good portion of the yarn I had for it in various other small projects. So, in the vein of my sweater unraveling ventures, I will likely unravel it soon, just to cut ties and cleanse the spirit and move onward and forward.
So my next few posts should be more specific and info-focused and less chatty and ramble-y. 

Your two cents

Information

This entry was posted on 2015: Thursday-Mar 5th by in Crafting, knitting, pattern design, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , .
The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Interweaving life with fiber arts! (Photograph by Carly Moskat.)

Knit One, Chain One

For the avid project starter.